top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdrian Cargal

Culture: The Building Blocks of Awesomeness!

"Live your life in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you, no one would believe them." " People will forget what you said, and they will forget what you did, but they will never forget how you made them feel." "Be somebody who makes everybody feel like a somebody." These are three of the most important mantras/quotes that I strive to live by, by some of my favorite people, Maya Angelou and Kid President. I suppose you could say they are a part of my personal culture. My personal culture is how I want to be represented. It is a constant polishing of how I want myself and others to feel when they come in contact with me. Do I want them to avoid me or feel unwanted around me? Or do I want them to seek me in times of trouble and know that I am there to help them whenever the need arises? My core values and beliefs shape my personal vision and mission, which therefore shape my culture. A school culture would be similar in that it is how others perceive them or feel about them when they are brought up in daily conversation or the campus happens to cross their mind. Perhaps my definition of culture is, in a way, synonymous with one's reputation. According to Desravines, Aqunio, and Fenton (2016), one can identify the type of culture a school has by the interactions and feelings the staff have toward students, parents, and vice versa. It also is revealed in the attitudes and feelings toward challenges and discipline. Witnessing these actions can form a positive or negative outlook, or reputation, of the school itself. Schools with a positive culture display the three levers: Shared Mission and Values, Relationships, and Family/Community Engagement in an effective way that envelopes the core values of the school (Desravines, et. al., 2016). They must create a motivational and inclusive vision and mission that is relevant to the uniqueness of the campus, sharing the ownership and implementing it constantly. Schools with a positive school culture develop streamlined behavior expectations that are practiced in every area of the school with defined terms that leave out subjectivity. They instill the famous words of Miley Cyrus, "Ain't about how fast I get there, ain't about what's waiting on the other side... it's the climb." When students are faced with diversity, they are resilient and celebrate growth and progress rather than "making the grade". In true Cargal fashion, I must illustrate my point with... a song.



Identifying personal cultural biases as a staff, rather conscious or subconscious, and having tough discussions about personal definitions of equity can create a positive school culture. Finally, and probably most importantly, a school with an active community and parent presence is one that is doing great things in positive school culture. When adults feel welcomed and vulnerable enough to share their thoughts, feelings, and ideas about the future of your campus, you are doing something right! I suppose the bulk of the responsibility for the school culture is placed upon the shoulders of the administrators, but the term "it takes a village" is true in many aspects of life, including this one. Everyone must buy-in to the vision, mission, values, objectives, and goals in order for success to take place. The community, families, staff, and students have to work together with passion and a happy, growth mindset heart to create change and see desired results.

References:

Desravines, J., Aquino, J., &Fenton, B. (2016). School Culture. Breakthrough Principals: A Step-By-Step Guide to Building Stronger Schools. (pp. 120-144). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page